Anyone know where I can find info on Numark PPD MMX1000(Urei/Bozak clone)

F

FrankDDR

I have been using it for about 5 years now (after retiring and totally rebuilding my Bozak) and the main outputs just went dead however all the other outputs work fine. I can not find schematics for it anywhere and the Numark tech department denies knowledge it ever made it!! Any help would be appreciated,the mixer looks just like a 1620 except for the following : a small crossfader over the inputs ,three tt inputs ,black caps on the knobs and a led meter over the master ,,crossfader is in same exact place as the Bozak in the pic.
Frank
Plpaudio@ix.netcom.com
Bozak_prototype_1983.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I know exactly which mixer you're referring to, however I think I've only seen one ONCE on Ebay. There seems to exist pretty much no info whatsoever on this mixer, sorry man.

Great,,,just my luck..Yeah I have only seen one other one in about 20 years..There was a vague reference to it in an old DJ Times article.Something about a famous DJ from that time in NY helping to design a custom rotary mixer handbuilt for the PPD section of Numark but they gave no more specifics as far as the model number but I cant imagine Numark making more than one type of Urei copy..The article stated It was never advertised and you had to call them directly,pay up front and wait for it to be made.According to the article only a few were made because of the high cost. Im sure tha fact that it said Numark on it didnt help it sell! The thing is heavy and extremely well built.All balanced,seperate isolation transformers,shielded power supply,individual boards with mostly discrete circuits. Quality wise its components are somewhere between the Urei and the Bozak with the Bozak having a fatter low end and both having better feel in the pots than the Numark.. Dont like the rotary Ranes sound at all..

Last edited by a moderator: