Are you concerned with popularity or originality?

JonahWayz

This is a question for anyone trying to get their music in the hands of the masses - either by being an artist or a producer. When creating music, are you concerned with popularity or originality? In other words, do you go in with the intent to create music that is relative to what's hot/popular or, are you simply interested in making music that you feel and let everyone gravitate to it?

I am an artist and my chief concern is doing me as being anyone other than myself is hard. I have the Big Daddy Kane view on why trends shouldn't be followed: "The first thing I would try to teach them [aspiring rap artists] would be originality. Whenever you are following a trend, trends come and go, so when that trend is gone you’re gone. You’re basing your career on a bangin’ beat and a catchy hook. So you know what you just did? You just made your producer a star.”

I agree - following a trend is not a long term solution but, being original means the path is long... Very long. I've been at this music thing for awhile now and finding like-minded fans is a task.. In some ways, I'm envious of those who can simply jump on trap beat and make a song that has absolutely no meaning and have it go viral.. At the very least, their name is in someones conversation..

ya, a think a little bit of both can be ideal. It's good to ride the trend waves when they come, but also keep your own unique style. This way you can adjust and adapt when one trend ends and new trend begins, ...and you're also strongly independent and self-sustaining. The trends can boost hype around a particular sound in the short run (same year or two), but creativity with a unique style will maintain your art over the long run (6+ years down the road).

Last edited:
i think theres a balance between creating something that expresses how you sound and on something everyone wants to here