Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is so special about rap music?

Thanks

What is so special about rap music?

Sign in to disable this ad
    Can someone tell me what the main reason why rap music is so interesting? How come everyone loves it so much? And what is the difference between hip hop and rap?

I am a student at the University of Little Rock in Arkansas, and my composition I assignment was to write about a musical genre that I do not normally listen to.
    And of course Rap is a genre that I do not listen to.

So can anyone please help me out with this?

Thanks for reading and considering.

CaRorie

Thanks
    Not sure why you think everyone likes Rap or Hip Hop, obviously it's not the only music that trends today.
    How did you come up with that conclusion?
    Music Producer & Mix Engineer , Los Angeles
    http://www.razklinghoffer.com/

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Raz Klinghoffer For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Hip-Hop used to be a culture that consisted of rap (rhythm and poetry) music, graffiti, DJ'ing, and several other things

In terms of the more mainstream artists, I think that a lot of people enjoy it because they can fantasize about a life more interesting than theirs, and since rappers brag so often people get lots of room for fantasy. For example, having tons of money and women, being a gangster, etc. I just like the rhythm and the heavy bass.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Excio For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    First off it is a question to a paper that is required of me to write about. I was not trying to make it sound like everyone wanted to hear a certain genre. I am doing a research paper if you must know Raz......And if you will read all of the thread you will see I mentioned that.........Duh!

Thanks