Self-taught vs School

Status
Not open for further replies.

djdrips

Sup guys,

I am a college student with a strong passion for hip hop music.. All my life I wanted to study music but my parents would not approve, and long story short I have decided to part ways with them and I am living independently right now with a part time job.

With nobody with music background around me, I wanted to ask you guys.. with so many free documents and articles on the web nowadays, is it necessary to pay for school to learn about music, in terms of music theory/technology/tips? Or can I still get what I need through internet?

just fyi.. I own a mpc1000 and fl studio 10(saving up for more equipments), I read and studied their manuals so I have basic knowledge of operating them but have little to no knowledge on things like music theory.

Thank you for your time.

---------- Post added at 09:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:51 PM ----------

Also I am looking to transfer to a 4 year college after my aa degree and earn a bs electrical engineering degree. I want to study audio engineering but is not offered ANYWHERE near where I live.. from what I read here and other forums EE is also a good degree for music, is that true? What I'm thinking is if anything, I can work as a hardware engineer at a company like akai, native instruments, etc.. Please tell me if I'm wrong..

absolutely not! in my opinion, but just having the input of someone experienced can be leaps ahead of trying to figure it out yourself.
(thinking an analogy of having a tour guide in a foreign country would fit here)

Maybe look to networking with folks with more experience, establish some kind of friendship (not just someone you
person 1: "hey man! can you listen to my new beat!?"
person 2: "pretty sweet man!"
person 1: "uhhh..thanks man!"

You might find someone online, or in your local music scene. Look to people who have what you want, and learn from them.