How Many of You Get Paid for Beatmaking?

G

GimpSpack

Hey, what's good?

I've been beatmaking for about a year now, and while I'm not considering "production" as a serious career (at least not now), I want to use what little talent I have at beatmaking into a somewhat profitable hobby.

My question is this: How many of you have EVER gotten paid for a beat you either leased or sold to an independant (or major) artist? I want to know how realistic it is to make a bit of side money in the lease game.

I know threads like this have been done before, and I've read them. But, I really want to know the scope of people getting payed by leasing beats on this forum.

So, have you ever gotten paid for leasing a beat. If so, how often, and is it worth the time you put in?

Thanks! :cheers:

I have been making beats for around 4 years and producing for 1.
Haven't sold 1 beat, and I won't until I feel I'm ready.

You'd be better off finding a (talented) rapper to work with and lease him some beats and see how that goes.
You may not get paid, but it is good experience.

When I was 1 year into making beats, selling them didn't even cross my mind. I just wanted to get better.

My personal opinion is that 1 year of making beats is too early to sell.
Unless you're really good.

You'd be better off finding a (talented) rapper to work with and lease him some beats and see how that goes.

When I was 1 year into making beats, selling them didn't even cross my mind. I just wanted to get better.

You cant really put a time limit on when someone is good enough to sell beats. Some cats have more talent then others.