Nu-Metal dead?

[][][][]ROK[][][][] said:
Ever heard of a little band called System of a Down? Nu metal cant be dead beacuse they are really hot right now.

Dude, really.

1. Do you think you were the only person to watch Mtv or listen to rock radio in 2001/2002?
2. SOAD aren't nu-metal.
3. No, they aren't hot right now.

System of a Down is kind of in their own category. Not totally nu metal, not thrash... They dont fit any molds really. Mostly metal though wouldnt you agree?

someone mentioned metal in the late 90's suck. Korn's been around since 96, if I remember. Cannibal Corpse isn't "nu metal" either. SOAD isn't new metaI.

I"m not old, but people have to realize that what they grew up with as teenagers is their scene. I graduated in 97, and I was into Pantera, Testament, White Zombie, etc. I"m sure guys who's teenage years fell in the eighties thought L.A. Guns were the sh*t. Anyways, the radio friendly hard hitting power cords of the mesa boogie age is not as prominent. Doesn't mean metal has died. It is going through a trend right now. Now you hear less polished (garage sounding) bands like the Strokes breaking ground. Back in the nineties, it was grunge; in the 70's and 80's, punk. History repeats itself, but in a new form. Rap, Rock? That was done by Run"DMC and Aerosmith. Hell, Aerosmith and a few other bands were doing something real close to rapping on a few tracks. Anyways, I've had enough beer tonight, so goodnight.

Last edited:
not dead...just going on to the next step...we all know whats coming

what's comming next..?
don get me wrong...i m hardcore fan of rap metal but even new inkinpark and korn is not satisfying...

Unsystematic said:
someone mentioned metal in the late 90's suck. Korn's been around since 96, if I remember. Cannibal Corpse isn't "nu metal" either. SOAD isn't new metaI.