Producers BEWARE and ...(Producers MUST READ!!)

So glad to know that it isn't just me thinking that 50c beat licences and $25 exclusives are selling us all down the sewer.

Damn; I got paid $8k in 1988 for orchestrating 40 songs - orchestrating not recording, not writing the songs, just writing the charts for others to play. Today that gig would be worth over $40K. If I'm writing exclusives, I expect, as a minimum, a weeks wage (which in my day job is $1500+ a week).

Good on you for speaking up.

That exactly how it should be! thanks for taking the time and reading my post... I really want to bring awareness to whats going on out here!

I understand ppl are mad about not getting their value as "beatmakers" I rather be a producer and work with artists beginning to end...we as producers have to realize it's not the 90's when local artist paid $250 for a beat.. just like major artists have to do all kinds of different things besides make a album to make money...

we as producers got to spread our wings.. stop relying on soundclick and local rap "bums" those who just want to freestyle or hear their voices on a beat and ride around smoking weed to their song...

I rather develope artists instead of sell beats...it would be nice to sell a few beats a month for a $250 a pop....
let's start looking for projects to work on...
now this is just my opinion

before i read this thread i just told this artist i would make a beat for him and that i wouldnt charge at first, but then he sent me like 6 songs he wanted to me to sample and so on and so forth. he wants me to make 6 different beats. thats a lot of time out of my day and away from my daughter. should i still put the work in for free or what?

I agree that it is good to be more businesslike. People will take you and your music more seriously for one thing.