need help with business in general

AlphaMatt

New to the forum. Hello and much thanks in advance for any advice.

Ok, long story short...

In 5 years, I will be eligible for the least amount of retirement benefits from my regular job (which I never intended to hold on to for this long, but, you know...life...and I suck at business matters). I know that 5 years is a solid chunk of time for focusing on a goal. I really want to retire then, and supplement that with music production, while my kid is still a kid. For practical matters, it's mostly about fim/tv music (and I have managed to sign one music library deal through Taxi so far), but I also want to develop the artist side of things with the name Alpha State (a reference to the study of brainwaves). I have a bachelor's degree in music composition, and spent a summer on an intensive audio engineering course. I've been making my own recordings for a little over 20 years, and I have a decent amount of live experience (with voice, piano, guitar, and bass). I'm pretty good on the creative end. But with all things business, I need help starting from scratch. Where do I begin? Resources for help with marketing, promoting, branding, putting together a bio...I'm lost with all of it...

Last edited:
New to the forum. Hello and much thanks in advance for any advice.

Ok, long story short...