Legal Issues with Acapellas/Remixing

MusicAboveNoise

Hey, Im an upcoming Music Producer, I am a massive fan of dubstep however house music is also insane ;)

Anyway....... Ive got a question, as Im not to clear on the whole remixing process. So basically, Can you publish a remix you've made using an acapella, does it have to be free? I heard unless you have permission from the original owner, It cant be sold for profit. Dubstep seems to be a hot-spot for remixes, and when I search through youtube, I have found a lot of producers who have remixed songs, have ALL of them asked permission to upload the remix???? I guess thats what i need answering the most. Ive seen people get really big with remixes, and Im sure before that they werent massive, so how did they contact the original owner?? Its all a bit confusing for me :$ Im 13, not saying that should matter...... but as you can imagine im not much of a lawyer ; ) Thanks for any help you could give as It could really give me another thing to try out In my productions :) Peace!!!

- Jake

I'm pretty sure you have to get in contact with the person who's voice it is... Maybe google this question too.. it can't hurt..

If you're trying to sell it, you need permission. Otherwise it should be straight to do without getting in trouble

Ok cheers, I wasn't thinking of selling anything just yet anyway, as its probably better to get some fans before making a profit I imagine?? Anyway thank you :)

Hey guys! Sorry to UP old topic, but i think my questions is the most suitable here.

So this is the case.
I want to use acapella of Craig David song, but it’s actually female acapella of one of the many covers of it. I want to put it out for free.
I want to use full acapella, not just single words, samples etc. I couldn’t find the singer / owner of the record, but i don’t think there will be a trouble from that side since there are dozens of similar covers.