How To Get In Contact With An A&R

bluenoon

Ok so first off I should say that I'm actually not a producer (I'm sorry my dudes I know this forum is literally called future producers) but I'm an artist trying to get signed to a major record label which I know is very difficult but I've talked to a lot of recently signed artists to major labels like Atlantic and Columbia and most of them had connections, went to showcases, or got lucky so maybe it isn't as crazy or difficult as I thought. So I saw this article from 2007 from this forum that I can't link right now because I'm a new user but I was wondering if anyone who knows enough about the music industry could give an updated version of how to get A&R attention and to contact A&Rs with the current way that the music industry has changed.

Main things I want to ask, if I do have an A&Rs email how do I send them music in a professional way that will actually get them to listen to it. It's definitely not 2007 anymore so is simply calling them up and asking for a meeting enough to get it in 2018? How to actually reach them and ask to schedule a meeting and what should I have / be prepared for for that meeting. Just generally information on how to get attention from an A&R and how to get signed.

Thank you!!!

they will come to you if they want you.

they get thousands of requests and usually don't even open them. A&R guys are like sports scouts. They go out and find talent. Then if the talent passes the management, they'll get in contact with you. Make a name for yourself. Build your portfolio. ...idk what yours is. It may be decent or not, ..but that's the way. Spamming your songs out doesn't work.

Good networking can help a lot too yes, but you gotta have the music portfolio, streams, stats, and sales to back it up.

those are my thoughts. cheers homie

Last edited: