Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do i collect royalties?

Thanks

How do i collect royalties?

Sign in to disable this ad
    how am i able to get royalties? how much does it cost to sign up with bmi and get royalties? im a producer and i want to start getting placements but i want to setup royalties first

Thanks
    If you found this forum you should be able to find info online about Publishing Rights Organizations.
    "Once black music leaves its original context, it begins to take on different meanings and serve different functions, and it is interpreted very differently." Portia Maultsby

Thanks
    you have to make a beat first

Thanks
    Pretty sure that the "OP" here is also a known FP quantity. But in the interest of egalitarian fairness:

1) Sign-up with ASCAP or BMI (your choice), as a songwriter, or as a publisher (so you can have a place for all of the show business royalty cash to accumulate legally)

2) Write hit songs, then sign with a label that can promote them successfully

3) Collect checks through your chosen PRO (performance rights organization)-- these are for radio and TV play only; movie and other video sync is separate, and album/singles sales royalties are a contractual matter for you and your label/management/business hierarchy

!Voila! Instant royalties.

GJ
    Last edited by rhythmgj; 01-18-2017 at 09:02 AM. Reason: ...

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by OGBama View Post
    If you found this forum you should be able to find info online about Publishing Rights Organizations.
    Performance*** Rights Organization

Thanks
    Correct^^^^

GJ

Thanks
    So how's it going, have you signed with a PRO yet?

Thanks
    I tried signing with a PRO but it's really difficult to do outside the US.
    You have to have some kind of tax number which requires sending your passport off to get legalised (isn't it already a legal document ?) which costs a few hundred dollars, or pounds in my case.