Anyone podcasting? DIY? Feeburner? Other?

theblue1

A few weeks ago I decided to embark on a big, year-long blog/podcast project. ( www.AYearOfSongs.org )

I figured since there were a fair number of people doing podcasts that it would be a fairly established field.

Even though I'm a web and database developer by trade -- and I spent the better part of a day or two getting up to speed on RSS ['Real Simple Syndication'] and other XML issues with which I wasn't yet familiar -- I decided to go with all third party tools.

I didn't want to bog myself down in becoming a service provider to myself. If you know what I mean.

I ended up hosting my media on the open-source-open-media community oriented site, www.Ourmedia.org *

I used Google's Blogger.com to write and manage my written blog. And I ultimately decided to go with Feeburner.com as an RSS feed packager.

And I'm basically glad I did.

Yes, Blogger, a web service, is, at times a bit dense about formatting and can get itself fairly confused, occasionally causing me to go in and laboriously hand edit out a whole lot of nasty/redundant/unneeded span tags. OTOH, it does have a fairly usable archiving schema that's a heck of a lot better than doing it all by hand.

And, though I was a bit iffy about Feedburner.com -- at first thinking I'd use Blogger.com's "ATOM" RSS feed -- I found that Feedburner is a nicely rounded suite of webservices that not only helps reduce the pain and suffering of preparing daily RSS feeds -- including the all important but somewhat idiosyncratic RSS coding specific to the iTunes podcast listings. It also provides a number of ways of promoting one's blog/podcast as well as links to important utilities like an RSS feed validator, etc.