Reason Vs. Other DAW...Thoughts?

notoriousben15

SO i've been using Reason for about 5 years now (First version 4.0, now 6.5). I've gotten the hang of it, i know how to use it, but i have not mastered it. I'm no pro, just like to make music as a hobby.

I chatted with a producer a while ago who told me he's not a fan of Reason, and he recommended that i consider switching (he recommended Ableton). I'm a little hesitant to switch for 2 reasons -

1. I know nothing about any other DAW's and i'm intimidated by the learning curve of switching from the only interface i know to a brand new one.
2. Coughing up the money for another DAW when i already own a perfectly good one.

I'm sure there are a lot of differences, but i've been told Reason has a certain "sound" that he didn't like, can anyone relate? I personally think a lot of the sounds on Reason sound too punchy, too crisp, too electronic. None of the instruments sound real. Everytime i'm looking for a smooth guitar or violin, i get sounds that just seem dominate and would rarely be mistaken for a real instrument. Now, is this common with Reason, or is this common with all DAW's? Is this simply b/c i need to buy more sounds and the stock sounds are just always going to be kind of cheap sounding? Or can i modify these to make them sound more legit?

I am also interested in learning more about sampling, but unfortunately my copy of Recycle is no longer compatible with my Mac. Do other DAW's come with software built in for sampling, or do you always need to purchase external software to be able to sample?

The 2 programs i've been thinking about are Ableton and Logic. Ableton, simply b/c i keep hearing more and more people are using it, and Logic b/c it's Mac based so i assume it's somewhat user friendly. Thoughts on these vs. Reason?

ANY Info is greatly appreciated. Thanks.