Freeware alternative to Ozone 5?

Elephant42

Hey guys,
I want to master my tracks. I want to use iZotope's Ozone 5, but i can't cause i'm a poor student and it costs like 7 bazillion dollars. So, I would like to ask if some of you might know some good freeware (or cheaper) mastering tools for me to use on ableton.
Thanks a lot in advance.

KVR: Virtual Instruments, Virtual Effects, VST Plugins, Audio Units (AU), AAX & RTAS Audio Plugin News, Reviews and Community - plus iOS (iPhone and iPad) and Android Audio App News Too

Do a search for free vsts. Just take note of what features Ozone has in it's mastering chain, and add individual free VSTs to your chain. It won't be in a convenient suite... but it's the same concept.

Also look at stillwellaudio.com. Stillwell makes some great sounding stuff. Free unlimited trial. Stay free until you can afford the few bucks for a license.

At the risk of saying something controversial... Ozone doesn't really offer much. It is really just EQ, MB compression and a limiter, none of which are that good. Also the package seems to be designed and marketed for people to just throw up a few presets and vacuum pack their tracks, which Ozone isn't very good at. The 'mastering reverb' is just...'reverb' and the spatializier stuff is superficial coloured distortion.

What you should look for is some good metering software first, span is pretty good (incidentally Izotope charge an even bigger amount for their metering add-ons which seem pretty good). Get one that you can use windowed. This is a must in Live.

Live's limiter isn't awesome but if you use it within small compression ranges is good enough. If you want to do 12 dB of compression in your limiter stage maybe you need to rethink your mixing.

EQ-wise I have no reason to think any freeware is going to better EQ8.

Live's Multiband compressor is just that, again I have no reason to think any free-ware is better.