How to install Paax VST Sampler?

P

Project Girl

Hello people,

I'm trying to install Paax (http://www.kotkasuniverse.com/paax_index.htm)
and I'm an ignorant beginner, and don't know what to do with the "paax2.dll" file. It's not in the manual, and a search of their forums turned up nothing. I guess everybody knows this except for me!!

Here's what I'm using so far:

Cubase LE. Lexicon
Lambda audio interface
Dell Inspiron 9200 laptop
Windows XP SP2
2.1 Gb Intel Pentium processor
1024 Mg RAM
BOSS DR-880 drum machine
Yamaha P-60 piano
Yamaha DGX-202 keyboard

Appreciate any help a whole lot.

Project Girl

I'm not sure how Cubase handles plugins, but I'm pretty sure it's explained in the (Cubase) manual...

You only need to put the .dll file into your plugin folder (which is probably selected from within Cubase). The default one is usually something like C:/Steinberg/VSTPlugins. Then do whatever Cubase's manual tells you to do in order to scan/activate VSTs.

krushing said:
I'm not sure how Cubase handles plugins, but I'm pretty sure it's explained in the (Cubase) manual...

I took a pretty good look and did several searches, but didn't find anything directly about installing VST samplers. It may be in there, but I can't find it.

You only need to put the .dll file into your plugin folder (which is probably selected from within Cubase). The default one is usually something like C:/Steinberg/VSTPlugins. Then do whatever Cubase's manual tells you to do in order to scan/activate VSTs.

There are two VSTplugins folders, one directly within the Steinberg folder, and one within the Cubase folder. I tried each of them (separately), copying the .dll file into them, then re-starting the program. "Paax3" appears under "VST Instruments", but no instruments are listed.

Also, I thought "VST Samplers" were programs which allowed you to organize and manipulate samples. Is that what Paax is? Or just a collection of samples?