Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best DAW for EDM

Thanks

Best DAW for EDM

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi

I'm a newbie wanting to buy laptop/mac and music production/DAW software.

Want to produce music like Disciples, Calvin Harris etc...EDM with vocals

I've heard plus/minus about a few DAWS - eg FL great, but not so good with audio...but can anyone advise me on :
    1) whether mac or laptop? and best ones?
    2) suggestions for DAW?

Doesn't have to be 'budget'

Many thanks

Andy

Thanks
    1) I think it's purely subjective these days. The best bang for the buck from a pure horsepower perspective is to build a tower PC - on the other hand, you can take a Macbook out of the shiny box and be up and running in no time and unless you know you're going to do super demanding projects, you'll probably be just fine with it even if it isn't that powerful spec-wise (you'll probably end up reading benchmarks where someone's running 250 heavy reverb plugins on their beast of a machine, but who needs that in the real world?). So basically it's a choice whether or not you need to be able to move around with your setup, and then choosing which OS platform you're most comfortable with.

I'm personally a Mac guy, but as said it's mostly out of comfort - all my work machines for the past 15 years have been Macs, and most of the time at home as well. Then again, before that I've got another 15 years as a PC guy. I didn't hate that, I just like Macs a bit more.

2) I could just say "get Ableton Live" and be done with it (since it's probably the most popular platform for all kinds of electronic music these days and I've used it since 2003), but I guess if you want to make an informed choice, the best thing is to download trial versions of a bunch of DAWs and try them out & have at least a few days to play around with each.
    Last edited by krushing; 08-17-2017 at 03:36 AM.

Thanks