Yamaha Motif vs Propellerhead Reason (hip hop production)

essedbl

Hi All,

I'm new to producing beats. I have a reason set up, and I was thinking of getting a yamaha motif. I have played with the Motif at the store and I like some of the sounds. But I'm wondering if you all think it is a good addition, or a waste. I have searched for reason refills that have the Motif sounds, but I haven't been successful.

I know a lot of pro producers use the Motif (or so I have read/heard). I'm just wondering if anyone can say whether the sounds of the Motif can be reproduced with reason, or if it is necessary to have the real McCoy. Also, I am just considering getting the rack-mount sound module, as I have a pretty good keyboard midi controller.

Motif has some of the best pianos IMO, but Reason has a nice stock piano in the Combinator called Five Meter Grand Piano. Kontakt even has a patch that emulates the Motif 7 which is what i use and it's REALLY close to the board, my boy has the Motif 6 and I can't get off it when I see it. If you have a chance to get a Motif go for it....I would.

Thanks for the feedback my dude. Yeah, I have played with it at the stores and I love the sounds. I have searched for refills, but all the comments I have read about motif refills is that they are garbage... I'm thinking about getting the motif rack-mount cuz its wayyyy cheaper than the full keyboard. And I think its the same sounds.

All good folks....95% of my music has the Motif sounds from Kontakt in it, hope to hear some stuff you come up with when you get it.

I own both...Reason is cool but motif wins hands down....vst and computer bases synths are cool and all,but your alwaayysss gonna go back to the motif from time to time...Alot of pros actually do use the motif once you become familiar with the patches you will recognize alot of sounds in comercial music from 2000s and up