Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yamaha Motif vs Propellerhead Reason (hip hop production)

Thanks

Yamaha Motif vs Propellerhead Reason (hip hop production)

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi All,

I'm new to producing beats. I have a reason set up, and I was thinking of getting a yamaha motif. I have played with the Motif at the store and I like some of the sounds. But I'm wondering if you all think it is a good addition, or a waste. I have searched for reason refills that have the Motif sounds, but I haven't been successful.

I know a lot of pro producers use the Motif (or so I have read/heard). I'm just wondering if anyone can say whether the sounds of the Motif can be reproduced with reason, or if it is necessary to have the real McCoy. Also, I am just considering getting the rack-mount sound module, as I have a pretty good keyboard midi controller.

Thanks
    Motif has some of the best pianos IMO, but Reason has a nice stock piano in the Combinator called Five Meter Grand Piano. Kontakt even has a patch that emulates the Motif 7 which is what i use and it's REALLY close to the board, my boy has the Motif 6 and I can't get off it when I see it. If you have a chance to get a Motif go for it....I would.

Thanks
    Thanks for the feedback my dude. Yeah, I have played with it at the stores and I love the sounds. I have searched for refills, but all the comments I have read about motif refills is that they are garbage... I'm thinking about getting the motif rack-mount cuz its wayyyy cheaper than the full keyboard. And I think its the same sounds.

Thanks
    All good folks....95% of my music has the Motif sounds from Kontakt in it, hope to hear some stuff you come up with when you get it.

Thanks