What is the Best Keyboard for Hip Hop Production?

Drew Iza

Ok to help answer, my friend has a ES6 and a Triton. So i've played with both of those a little bit. I have no prior experience with keyboards past that. And honestly when I was using the Motif it was not that user friendly for someone like me that doesnt really know much. But the sounds on it were pretty tight. I like the triton aswell, it was a little more user friendly, but a little out of the price range.(but if its the best i will save for it) Now lately i've been looking at the fantom x series. Now i hear its very user friendly, and I know it has the drum pads. I've been leaning towards the Famtom X6 because of how easy it is to work. But lately i've heard that the sounds were thin. So I dont know. As the topic i'll be using it for mainly hip hop production and R&B. I also plan to do some sampling so maybe the drum pads on the fantom would be useful. but I dont wanna get it if the sounds are thin or not ful. So i'm like going bonkers. I'm thinking about going to test the fantom myself. But right now I'm looking for you guys opinions. Hopefully that was helpful enough for answering my question.

I appreciate the help.

thanks

Drew Iza said:
are you serious, nobody can help me with this?
Well, the question has been answered lots of times, and the answer is there is no best keyboard for any genre, I think you should go to the guitar center and demo each one to find out which one is best for you! But I'll give you my take on this...My friend, who is teamed up with me, owns a Triton Pro, and it seems pretty tight! It's pretty easy to use as well, and has some great sounds for hip hop and RnB production! I personally love the bass sounds this thing has packing! And the synth and bell sounds are ill! I also liked the semi-weighted keys; It made me feel more in control of what was happening, and it was fun pumping out drums on them! This workstation was definitely built for popular music!