Help with Sampling Breaks

J

juniorb

I've been making Hip Hop type stuff for bout 6 months now and I'm gettin better all the time( much thanx to this site! )

I sample all my own beats and I'm now gettin to grips with eq ing and compressing them, then I lay out my patterns in FL. Now though i want to take it a stage further and start sampling complete breaks, then laying my own hits over the top.

What I need is any advice on eq ing them etc cos I'm not sure where to start when i got kicks, snares and hats on the same sample. eg I give the hats a high boost but they sit on some of same steps as the kick which don't need a high boost!

In fact, any break sampling tips at all would be much appreciated as I got some wicked ones l wanna use.

Hope this all makes sense! I got Forge and a ton of effects.

Thanx in advance.

With flp, what I do is sample my breaks. Using a turntable/vinyl going into Steinberg Wavlab. Then I cut it into individual pieces, Then I retrigger these pieces in flp at the tempo/arrangement I want:)

sampling breaks