A guide to building/buying a PC for music production. (2017)

minervx

I'm by no means an expert, but I've learned a lot and I figure I'd teach people who are interested in building a PC but are unsure where to start. If you're spending over $500 (and especially over $700), it's best to build your own rig. It has gotten much easier in recent years with modular parts, communities such as PC Part Picker and detailed Youtube tutorial videos.

CPU: For music production, CPU is the most important part. DAW's give a lot of instructions to the computer. Don't judge a CPU by the number of cores or clock rate alone (i.e. the AMD FX line of CPU's are far less powerful than they appear). If it's an Intel, judge it by the generation. The first number in the 4-digit name is the generation (i.e. 7600 and 7500 are from the 7th generation). i7's are the strongest CPU's, however, i5's may be a superior value. The most budget friendly bang-for-buck CPU is the Intel Pentium G4560, which is nearly identical to an i3. However, at least a 6th or 7th gen i5 is recommended. The i5-7600k is a great choice. In Intel's CPU's, the "K" stands for overclocking. In this case, you should add a cooling fan to the build. AMD Ryzen's line is stellar, a bit less expensive, and superior in performing more instructions due to a more cores. You can't go wrong with the Ryzen 5 or Ryzen 7 line of CPU's.