Advantages of a Drum Machine

amakarise

Hello,

I am fairly new to music production so while this may sound like a silly question, I wanted to ask what are the true benefits/advantages of owning a drum machine? Intuitively, I'd imagine perhaps it's easier to use from a creativity standpoint. I am wondering if maybe on a drum machine someone could link it to their daw (or maybe audio interface, I'm not really sure) and for example, assign a kick to Pad 1, a snare to Pad 2 and Hi-Hat to Pad 3 and experiment to come up with whatever pattern they like to record inside their DAW? (This would be easier than dragging and dropping notes into the piano roll I'm sure)

Also, would the 8 pads that often come on a midi keyboard suffice to do nearly the same job as a drum machine? Sorry if these questions sounds elementary, but I have never used a drum pad nor do I have access to one at the current moment. So, I haven't too much idea of why it is useful. I know some come with preset sounds while others do not, but as far as why people choose to start using it is what I'm looking to gain insight into.

Thank you for any help!

The pads on a keyboard are not the same. With an actual drum machine, you get to tweak the sounds & then program a sequence. Some have more features then others. If you are using a DAW, you don't need hardware at all(in some cases). Hardware though can both sound better & allow you to do more then what a DAW is capable of(at least not easily).