Which Bass Guitar For Hip Hop/R&B?

E

EdoubleS

Hi.
Im a producer focusing on Hip Hop and R&B and was hoping to get into playing the bass guitar. I was wondering, which bass guitar is commonly used by Hip Hop producers (if there is one). If not, which guitar seems best suited to Hip Hop production?

I know fender p and j basses are used by that one bassist for dr dre. Also the earnie ball stingray is popular.....

That's right. Just go into a store and pick whatever feels right for you.

Word on the street is, j-bass sounds brighter than p-bass. But with todays' technology (EQ & effects) I think you'll get whatever sound you want out of both.

But I'm no expert, they are:
http://guitarexpert.wordpress.com/2006/12/29/the-fender-p-bass-vs-j-bass/
http://www.tunemybass.com/bass_guitar_buying_guide/precision_bass_jazz_bass.html

Someone may suggest getting a 5-string bass, but I don't know. 4 strings is enough for me. Worse comes to worst, you can tune it down a bit.

Last edited:
Cheers.
I havent played bass before so i obviously have alot to learn! Basically, the more strings you have, the higher the note that can be achieved. WOuld it be worth getting a 5 or 6 string guitar. i kno a load of bass players but they all work with 4 strings.

Actually, the one extra string on 5-string bass is there for lower notes. The 6th string on the 6-string bass is for higher notes. But hey, I wouldn't worry about it if I were you. So far, I've only come up with one song that required 5 strings, Beyonce - Me, myself and I. But transposing or down tuning fixes the problem.

oh ok. I thought they would have both aeen for higher notes! Either way i think im goin for a used 4 string for now, hopefully teach myself the rudiments and go with tuition from there, thats what i did with the piano.

Any idea what its like hookin a bass up to a roland mv-8800 because im getting one of those soon too?

Cheers