Is uploading beats to youtube a good or bad idea?

AlexCollins

Yo,
I've been producing for a few years and I feel like I have enough quality stuff to start making a name for myself. However, I'm not really looking to just hustle beats for $20. The end goal for myself is to have beats placed to good/decent artists, so the only reason that I want to upload these beats is pretty much just to show them off, get subscribers/veiws, etc. Would posting these beats to youtube harm the chances of them ever getting placed? For instance, I showed one of my beats to the rapper Logic, and he asked me questions such as "have you sent this to anyone? Has anyone else rapped on this?", and the beat I showed him was over a few months old. I wouldn't want to show a good artist a beat and have him love it but not use it only because it was posted online and x amount of people ripped it from a downloader.

I also have a decent beat tag thats not crazy annoying, so if I should protect my beats with it, how often do you guys recomend that I loop the tag?

you can disable embedding if that's what you are asking.that'll disable a large portion of the vd's out there?
or you can go the creative commons route and upload 192kbps aacs since that's the highest youtube can go i think.
192kbps acc 44.1khz.and if they want your beat full they could pay for 320kbps or flac etc if you have a seperate music account.

If you have logic telling you your beats are good then you must be ****ing legit bro. I'm literally listening to his music at this exact moment coincidentally.

Ask him.