Electronic Music Rookie, £500 to spend... help me out please!

ColorVolume

Hey guys,

I've spent the past day or so researching this subject but I need some opinions on which route to go down. I'm heading over to my local music store in a week or so, but I wanna call up and make sure they have what I want to try first, so an idea of what that might be would be great.

I'm currently getting started in making some electronic music. I'm a guitarist of 15 years, and have done a bit of live recording here and there but never anything with MIDI, synths, etc. However, over the past 6 months or so I find myself making beats and stabbing away at the on-screen keyboard and it's about time I got myself some hardware. I intend to work with electro/ambient stuff, possible some orchestral vibes mixed in, I'm loving Ed Harrison's stuff from that NeoTokyo thing right now, possibly along the lines of where I'm aiming for.

I'm using Logic, and Kontakt, and Reason too although I haven't done much in Reason as of yet. The gear I've got is a MOTU 8PRE, and some old Yamaha monitors which aren't too bad, and will certainly do for now.

So, as I said, my budget is around £500 and I wanted to know what you think I should get. Also, 61 keys or 49? I know nothing about playing keys right now other than what I can transfer over from guitar, but I do intend to learn some basic piano since it's something I wanted to do anyway (by no means intending to become a classical pianist though... just enough to make some nice melodies/chord shapes and actually know what I'm doing)

Here's what I'm thinking;

Option 1: Keyboard/Controller: Akai MPK61 £399 or Novation Impulse 61 £299.

Both seem like decent, entry level 'do it all' boards... not sure if they're any good or whether I really need 61 keys... 49 would save a lot of money (£249 Nov, £299 MPK) but not sure if 49 is adequate.

Option 2: Synth to use as synth and midi device: Roland GAIA SH01 or Korg MicroKorg (both ~£450)