Doing my first mix (gain staging, etc..)

mintholic

Hi guys. I'm a newbie who just composed a first beat and I'm about to try mixing on my own. Before I do anything, I was taught to leave all the faders at unity and do gain staging with trim plugins or whatnot to bring down the volume. Right now, I'm very confused because all of my tracks have different peak db, and I don't know which track I should deal with the peak first, so then I can work other tracks to balance around it. Because right now, I don't even know which track to even start. One track is being shown to go as low as -17 whereas one track would be at 2db.

Also, I'm not sure whether I should use the fader or the trim knob on the FreeG plugin..

For the master fader, what should be the peak level be? I heard somewhere that -18db is the sweet spot but not sure if this is indicating the individual channel fader or the master.

I suggest you leave the master fader at 0 dBFS. Use the individual track volume sliders to determine how loud you want each track.

Start with the kick. I usually bring up the kick until it hits -12 dBFS and then I add other instruments. Your mix will sound of course less loud than commercially mastered music but you can fix that by adding a limiter afterwards.

Any particular reason why you use FreeG?

I suggest you leave the master fader at 0 dBFS. Use the individual track volume sliders to determine how loud you want each track.

Start with the kick. I usually bring up the kick until it hits -12 dBFS and then I add other instruments. Your mix will sound of course less loud than commercially mastered music but you can fix that by adding a limiter afterwards.

Any particular reason why you use FreeG?