Choosing the CPU specs.

Chinmay Bhosale

Hello everyone! I'm Chinmay, and I'm from India. I just joined the forum, so i'm new to this.

The topic i'm posting about is the computer. I currently have a Dell Optiplex 745 SFF CPU with an Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz processor and 2 GBs of RAM. The interface I'm gonna be using is a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 or Pro 24 DSP. Probably the Pro 40 for drum tracking. I'm mostly gonna be producing some modern metal music and electronic music.
So, my question is that should I upgrade my current CPU or should I get a new one with a quad core processor? When I tried plugins like Nexus and Massive on FL Studio 10 with the current setup, it went all overload and started clipping alot, I couldn't make any preset work on both the plugins. Also, when I put heavy delay on a track, the same problem occurs. I don't want any latency and tracking problems with the interface. Also, while mixing and mastering the songs.
So, what do you all suggest? Let me know soon.

Thank you!

Upgrade your processor, because I think you're goin to need it. If you can, try and order from Microcenter. AMD is a good chip. It's cheap and gets the job done.

It all depends on what your motherboard can hold. Check to see what's the highest grade CPU your motherboard's socket is compatible with and make your decision from there.

Not all CPU's fit into all motherboards. They change up the socket-types depending on the CPU family. (ie... not all i7's have the same socket type).