Question about sending a record to a mixing engineer

Hi there

I'm a 19 year old producer and I'm currently working on a track that I would like to send to a mixing engineer

I've read that when preparing the track to send, I should render down each individual track within the project and send that together with a reference track

My question is I read that I should remove all effects when sending
I don't understand how this works because the track would not sound the same without say delay,reverb,eq etc

Can someone with a mixing engineer knowledge give me some clarity on this topic?

Thanks
Jagger

You mean you a composer right? In this case, you can always talk to the engineer about what kind of sound you want to achieve in this particular track. You have to remove the effects so the engineer can work precisely in each one of the tracks.

Last edited:
Hi there

I'm a 19 year old producer and I'm currently working on a track that I would like to send to a mixing engineer

I've read that when preparing the track to send, I should render down each individual track within the project and send that together with a reference track

I don't understand how this works because the track would not sound the same without say delay,reverb,eq etc

Can someone with a mixing engineer knowledge give me some clarity on this topic?

Thanks
Jagger

Hey Jagger,

This response may be a little late, but yes, you should remove ANY effects on the individual tracks before you send them to the engineer. Now that's IF it's not an integral part of the sound design of that particular instruments.

For instance, remove the reverb and delay from things like snares, vocals, pianos, etc. Compression and eq's on percussion sounds can be left on there, if it's integral to getting the sound that you want on that particular instrument.