Question about basslines and highs

thecomedian

Hello all,
I'm a bit new to making beats and producing (I've been doing so for about 5 months) and I've noticed that there's a problem that keeps on happening. Anyways, the problem is when I start off a song with some high synths (5th octave or so), when the bassline comes in, it sorta "eats up" the sound of those synths, and the result is the whole track starts to sound very "muddy", if that makes any sense. This doesn't happen on my monitors, it just happens on my "normal" computer speakers. Anyways, I was just wondering if there was anything I could do about that to kind of "separate" the sounds. I'm not too familiar with mixing and I've looked at some tutorials, but yeah, I'm stuck!
Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks!

Oh and I'm currently using Pro-Tools M-Powered.

this problem occurs because there are crossover frequencies that are inhibited by both your bass and synth sound, which occur in the mid-freq range of your track.....in more simple terms the two instruments are fighting for the same spot on the record.....the solution is to EQ......you need to find the essence of both the sounds.....start with the bass, oad up an EQ plugin and boost differnet frequencies to find where the sound you want to keep resides....do the same with the synth.....those are your "keeper" frequencies....once you find them make sure to cut those frequencies from the other instrument....after that check for any problematic frequencies that remain in each instrument and cut those as well.....essentially you want to use the EQ to clean up your track and provide a separation between sounds that try to occupy the same frequencies.....