How do people record on one DAW and mix on another one?

Captainjazz123

I've been recording on hardware for several years and now I'm migrating to software. The changes are much more dramatic than I had expected it to be. I have Logic Pro 9 and I'm planning on getting Ableton very soon. Say for example I want to make my instrumentals on Ableton and transfer them to Logic so I can mix, and vocals and instruments on them. How is this possible? I've heard of Rewire, but I can't really understand it. Can you record on one DAW while it copies the vocals in real time? This is all too confusing for me. Any help or advice will do!
:)

You can do all sorts of things, but the best approach is to track out/bounce out individual tracks to (mono) wav/aiff and then load those into protools or any other daw.

I put mono in parentheses as some folks will say everything should be tracked out to stereo. I disagree unless the sound source has specific stereo imaging information in it - i.e. the sounds moves across the stereo over time as an intentional design.

You can do all sorts of things, but the best approach is to track out/bounce out individual tracks to (mono) wav/aiff and then load those into protools or any other daw.

I put mono in parentheses as some folks will say everything should be tracked out to stereo. I disagree unless the sound source has specific stereo imaging information in it - i.e. the sounds moves across the stereo over time as an intentional design.
Ah, thank you!
Do I need to bounce them without effects?
What are stems?

the phrase stems is another way of saying bounced/tracked out - the individual sound sources as a wav/aiff file