Creating drum kits automatically and chromatically in FL Studio like Ableton.

Remedial

Okay, I'm a newb to FL studio, so, some of the workflow is kind of new to me. In Ableton, which is my primary DAW, I can grab a set of drum samples, drop them to a pad in a drum rack and the samples will be distributed chromatically from the first pad that I drop them on.

Is there any way to do this in FL Studio, whether using FPC or Directwave?

Thanks beforehand.

As Far as drum machines i suggest a vst call "Ez Drummer" Its cool but i prefer to make my drum pattern in the step sequencer

---------- Post added at 06:19 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:15 AM ----------

Or Akai Mpd. Look it up on google

Def use the FPC for drums. If you like to do triplets and different velocities on your drums it can be done much easier in the Piano Roll than in the Step Sequencer.
Yes, the Piano Roll is really better for programming drums than the Step Sequencer to me.
Cause in the Step Sequencer you need to shift everything by 33% for that swing and change the velocity for each note while in the piano roll you can just sequence on Snap 1/3 and make triplets swing drums like that and keep like 2 different velocities by clicking on a note with the lower velocity or clicking on a note with the higher velocity.
And you can see the velocities in the tab underneath the piano roll.

i hope i'm clear.

Last edited:
Yeah you can be the most precise in FPC, but if precision is not needed, the step sequencer is indeed more convenient.

Hmm either im confused as to what youre asking or people are answering something completely different for you lol. I personally dont know of a way to do that but I never use the FPC so maybe someone else can help you out.

Hmm either im confused as to what youre asking or people are answering something completely different for you lol. I personally dont know of a way to do that but I never use the FPC so maybe someone else can help you out.