Zahara - New action piece

thebluemask

Here's a new piece in a similar extended vein to the last demo I put up.

I tried to make it action-y in a Bourne Identity kind of way (ie mix orchestral elements with more contemporary drums).

I guess I had in mind a more modern update of an 'action hero' who's name begins with the same letter as the track...

Let me know any thoughts:

Zahara

i liked it.... nice suspence and movement. the mix sounded really nice. sound positioning excellent. i could really see this on something such as u discribed. been awhile since iv heard a gud piece. how long have you been doing scores/sound tracking? also what did you use? strings etc D

Thanks for listening.

For the orchestral stuff, I use East West products (Symphonic Orchestra - Gold & Silver editions) and also East West Stormdrum for percussion. I've been using EW products for about 18 months now. Highly recommend them.

I'm likely going to be purchasing EWQLSO Silver before Christmas. Every time I hear something made with it, I get excited.

As for the Stormdrum pack, what all is there in it? Is it a huge pack with all different styles of percussion, or is it exclusively drums? I really need a good collection of percussion.

Thanks

Stormdrum has two aspects - the Intakt samples which are loops - I used some of these in Zahara but generally they'll soon run out of use as they're quickly becoming overused (due to tracks like this one :o ) and the individual multisampled percussions which are much more useful - that's what I'm working on now.

The percussion instruments cover a wide range of different 'world' percussion instruments and let you build your own percussion tracks:

http://www.soundsonline.com/sophtml/details.phtml?sku=EW-162

just listened again. awesume! lol i love this. got a bourne identity feel. sound put it forward for some action films. D

***edit***
lol just read your first post again. guessing you already had bourne identity in mind

Last edited:
Bluemask: