Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Why do I suck at making beats?

MusicGang is offline Registered User
    Thanks
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Quote Originally Posted by OMGITSKENNY View Post
    Straight up, stop trying so hard and start having fun. You need to let go and see what happens. When you sit and over think everything, youre never going to find a proper direction. Maybe making trap beats isnt for you. Try messing around with sounds, try listening to new music. Branch out.
    Listen to him ^^^^ thats a big part of it!

LouieGMtl is offline Registered User
    Thanks
    One word my friend practice

dbfuru is offline Registered User
    Thanks
    I am a beginner and get frustrated too, so I am taking a break and am brushing up on music theory. I have a basic understanding of the base concepts but need to step my game up. My advice would be to get in the theory books and get a book or two on composition. There are a couple of dummies guides that are great.

Don't be afraid to learn theory or think it will stifle any creativity because that is straight up bullshit. Knowing the theory would only help your creativity rather than hinder it. If you slap together something without knowing about theory and it sounds good - that's music theory at work. If you know about the theory you will know why it sounds good and you will be better able to make a beat. It really doesn't take too much learning to get to grips with chords/scales/ other basics and they will help a lot especially when you start.

That and as has been said practice practice practice and just go in and have fun - something I admittedly have to work on which is why I am taking a break. Just compose over and over, don't try for a masterpiece just practice. When it stops being fun stop trying to make a beat and have a break.