Trying to create an orchestral intro for a song of mine

Ddream

Hey guys,

I'm trying to create an orchestral intro to a song of mine, in a very dark, moody way.

I've been reading about orchestra composition an arrangement, and got some good tips, like panning sounds and using reverb to locate the instruments correctly on the stereo field, for example.

But, as a noob, I'm having a hard time on how to make the instruments complement each other.

Are there any books, or good websites where I can learn more about this?

I'm trying to leave the flute as a solo instrument, and accompained by violins, violas, cellos, basses, bassons, french horns and clarinets. Is this a good setup? Or I need to have the full orchestra working?

Thanks in advance!

most of what you will be trying to achieve comes back to arranging and orchestration, which presupposes that you have a sketch of your intro with melody and accompaniment already worked out in bare bones form

the next step is to allocate part of the accompaniment to your instruments and choose the register, articulations and textures that will evoke your mood

after you have completed the arranging portion of the task then emulating it with your orchestral sample library takes place and applying standard orchestral layouts to your panning may be appropriate or you may choose to organise your ensemble within the space differently

happy to go over the details if you have a sketch to explore

most of what you will be trying to achieve comes back to arranging and orchestration, which presupposes that you have a sketch of your intro with melody and accompaniment already worked out in bare bones form

the next step is to allocate part of the accompaniment to your instruments and choose the register, articulations and textures that will evoke your mood