Strings and Pads

typhy

I like to make Hip Hop and R&B beats. I'm fairly new to producing and I'm trying to learn all I can. When I make beats I usually always start with a chord progression first, and this is usually done with a piano VST. Once I've established a progression to get the mood of the song going, I usually add drums; kick, snare, hats, and percussion if any. By now, I have a cool little beat forming. Then, I will add a bass (synthy or acoustic). I normally make an 8 bar loop and try to add as much as I can to it, and that will be my hook/chorus. So to thicken up this little groove I got going, I would normally add some strings to go along the progression. However, I have Komplete 7 and Kontakt 4 only has a string, cello, bass, viola, and violin emsemble... which is only 5 different types of strings to choose from. I guess I'm tired of hearing the same kind of strings in my beats over and over again. I'm assuming to spice things up I would have to start adding effects to my strings to get different sounds out of them? What are some effects that goes well with strings for HipHop and R&B music? Do you guys usually add effects to your strings that layer your chord progressions? Help me out! I'm tired of the same old string sounds.