Songwriting, Theory and Instruments

CodyFrumtript

Music Junky at Large
Whats up =D I'm a newbie. Anywho,

So the biggest thing i need help with right now, and the primary reason i came to this forum is because of a MAJOR sticking point i'm having in my songwriting and theory.

I played guitar for about 5 years, but never took any theory or lessons. In a way, this was awesome because i got really good at teaching myself music, but now its comming back to kick me in the butt.

Now that i'm taking music very seriously, i have a problem.

Everytime i go to write a song, i have limited knowledge on constructing bass lines, what melodies are interesting over the top of them and the biggest thing: Switching up the progression for the chorus.

Also a HUGE problem with my guitar playing is that i only know basic power chords and punk progressions. I'm at a loss for knowing where to go from hear. My latest aproach was to learn a new song on guitar every day, but that doesn't actually help me with this problem.

Also when i start to look stuff up it comes up like this:

"Hi! I'm a random music teacher, and i'm going to teach you about scales! The first ones, are major and minor...."