Samples just aren't cutting it

Brendan Bonura

Young Dienasty
ive been making rap beats for a few months now, and so far, samples are the only thing i would use for my sounds (and the occasional fl studio plugin). But i just cant get that original feel in my beats without a vst. I have seen things such as nexus 2, toxic bio hazard, and several others, but i just dont have the money to buy hundreds of dollas worth of plugins. I have used several free plugins downloaded from vst sites, but they sound, well... free. Is there any advice anybody can give me?

Its not the sounds, its what you do with 'em that counts. Too many guys think its all about how much gear or VST's they need, and aren't spending enough time learning how to make music with what they have. I suggest taking some time to learn a bit of music theory, perhaps take some piano lessons and learn to play some songs in the genre you were sampling from. I used to sample and after I got tired of sampling jazz, blues and soul....all that was left was to learn how to play jazz, blues and soul music so I no longer had to rely on sampling anymore. You've only been at this a few months, slow down and learn some skills and techniques to help advance your craft.

Last edited:
It's not too many free or even cheapvstis that can compete with the sounds of a sample. You want the sound of samples without sampling, you're gonna need live instruments or vstis that do a convincing job of sounding like live instruments. These libraries take tons of work to put together and cost money for that reason.

I may be hearing you wrong, but I'm assuming you want realistic sounds. It would help to know what type of overall sound you're aiming for. If you wanna make stuff for Maxwell or D'angelo you're gonna want different options than making stuff for Rihanna or J.Lo which will still be different than making stuff for Rick Ross or Wacka Flocka. FL does come stock with lots of options for producing all of the above.