Question about scales and chords

Addam

I know, yet another one of these so I apologise in advance.

I have read that you can build any major chord from a major scale by playing the 1st, 3rd and 5th notes. I have also read you can build any minor chord from a minor scale by playing the 1st, flattened 3rd and 5th notes. But this confuses me a bit.

1) If I am playing a progression of I IV V I for example from lets say a E major scale:

E Major Scale: E F# G# A B C# D#
I: E G# B
IV: A C# E
V: B D# F#

I think I am doing something wrong here...

2) How do you know if you should be building major or minor chords from other scales such as Dorian, Phrygian, Locrian, etc?

I'm new to music theory and I hope someone can explain this to me.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
You are correct in what you are saying about the I IV V progression.

Just a quick bit of info: building chord in any key is about as simple as pick a note (the root), skip a note in the scale and add the next one (third). Do that twice for triads or three times for 4 note chords. Depending on what note you choose as your root will determine what type of chord it is, major or minor. It's predetermined by the scale you choose. Major scales follow I ii iii IV V vi VII but the VII is a diminished chord. You'll only need diminished and augmented if you are deliberately trying to add their sound to a certain part of your music.

Last edited:
The essence of building chords in one short sentence - skip every other note and make sure that you have three notes.

So your E major example is correct

Scale
Degree
Name
Scale
Degree
Number
Scale
Tone
Chord
Degree
Chord
Built
above
Chord
Type
Tonic1EIE-G[sup]#[/sup]-BMajor
Super Tonic2F[sup]#[/sup]iiF[sup]#[/sup]-A-C[sup]#[/sup]minor
Mediant3G[sup]#[/sup]iiiG[sup]#[/sup]-B-D[sup]#[/sup]minor
Sub-Dominant4AIVA-C[sup]#[/sup]-EMajor
Dominant5BVB-D[sup]#[/sup]-F[sup]#[/sup]Major
Sub-Mediant6C[sup]#[/sup]viC[sup]#[/sup]-E-G[sup]#[/sup]minor