problem with creating synth sounds.

izzy1

i have a problem with programming synths to sound in the hip hop area. i know what filters, ADSR envelopes,oscillators and the other stuff do and how they operate but, i cant seem to create the sounds im looking for. my vsti's are purity, hypersonic and pro 53. please no negative comments. thank you.

I hear ya... When I wanted to get into sound design..more so just making my own synth sounds from scratch...I was told to check out Massive..So I did. By then I already had a good understanding of the ADSR envelopes as well as filters and what not.. But I couldn't make any sound, sound the way I wanted to.... But I kept at it...I'm still learning...but I'm able to make the sound I want more often than not now.... So just keep practicing.....And even though you have an understanding of the envelopes and filters, perhaps you just don't have the know-how of how to utilize them in a way that produces the sound(s) you're looking for.. Don't take that negatively..Cuz I was in the same boat..I knew how everything worked, and what everything was there for, but when it came to programming and using all that stuff on my own with no tutorials..I blew it damn near every time...Like I said, I'm still learning...but am getting better...And you will too if you keep practicing, reading, learning, and....practice some more!

Also keep in mind, its not what you have, its what you know. You have good plugins.. But you seem to lack some knowledge of those plugins, and/or the technical knowledge required to program synths in those plugins..Again, don't take that in a negative way..because we all start off in the same boat..Learn the basics, master the basics, and expand..The same principles can be used on ANY synth, since they're basically all the same, for the most part.

Just keep at it dude and you'll get it