"Outdated" Hip-hop sound... need to modernize my beats?

Dandeezy

Hip-Hop Producer
I was talking to an A&R and she told me to send her some of my stuff (usual procedure). She said she like my sounds... if I was a producer in the 90s. Basically the mix is alright and the sample chops are on point but she said it's missing a modern finish to it. As of late, I've been thinking a lot about that too... I feel like there are producers (J. Cole, Jake One, Statik Selektah) that keep their sample chops very similar to the older producers like DJ Premier and 9th Wonder but their beats seem more "modern" as this A&R told me.

Anyone have an opinion on this or want to share some tips with me? Here are some examples of my work...

Have you considered that labels often has a certain sound they prefer sticking to? Maybe your sound isn't "outdated", it's just outdated for their label. If I were you, I would send my demos to more labels and see what they say.
In the end, do what you like to do... if you like the oldschool sound, then stick to it.
Though I'm no hiphop guy.

No, it's dated. The mix needs more bottom on the 1st joint, 808s and basslines are dominant these days, even with "boom bap" stuff. Don't be scared to layer in a few 808s. You're going to want to incorporate innovation into anything you do. You don't still build a car like it was built in 1950. Some will oppose, but they're not the guys talking to A&Rs trying to get placements.

I do WTF I want, because I'm not trying to get placements, and I still understand that you have a demographic you're trying to reach and you'll have to cater your sound to them. Depending on who walks thru my door for a beat, I have to have something that fits their style. The beats you showcased aren't at a current enough level to compete with the next guy who samples and still provides all the other elements current records have.