Music Theory

J

James McFadyen

There have been a few threads on Music Theory, and although I do not want to go into any great detail about it, but through my own experience music theory is essensial. This forum has proved that about a thousand times, people on here are always asking about how build chords, how to write melodies, how to score for orchestra, how to build chords with different instruments, etc, etc.

I am classically trained, I did my postgraduate study in Composition at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, I think even the best writers (and that includes EVERYONE :) ) could benefit from classical training (otherwise known as music theory. :)

Last edited by a moderator:
im currently studying advanced level music in my schools 6th form and iv found it has helped loads in writing my music!

Dunno how this post is gonna help anyone but nevermind.

Chris

Any perspective helps... The problem most people have is that they expect to be able to read a book and automatically understand how to compose.

So when they're confronted with something that doesn't seem logical or a lot of information that doesn't seem immediately useful they give up (what we wouldn't give to all have personal tutors)

One example is the whole point of understanding keys. From a practical perspective picking out a series of notes and playing them in a random order to try and create melody makes absolutely no sense. Most people seem to skim over the most important part which is the relationship between the root of the key and each consecutive degree, and deriving from that how to create either resolution or suspense.

Very few interesting songs technically stick 100% to one key. And even the ones that can be technically defined as being in a key lean towards or hover around it's inversion (for example) to create some sort of tension.