Kicks that Stand Out (like Johnny Juliano)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zee one

Im finding my kicks kind of tend to blend in with the mix too much, how can I better make them stand out?

Johnny Juliano is a good example of someone who has kicks that I like...does he use noise gating? How does he get his kicks to come out so bold and so loud?

Actually all his instruments seem to stand out as well, and seem to have their own special space...I find with my mixes things tend to blend in with each other too much.

How do I get my sounds to stick out more, namely my kicks. Any idea how JJ does it?

Im still a newbie so I don't quite have the ear to tell what he is doing...I do feel though that there is some gating involved.

Last edited:
your asking a question that many people will give you a different answer for. i''ll try to give some basics on what i do. With kicks and snares try layering it will help you to get a fuller and fatter sound. when it comes to synths make sure every instrument has room to breathe. Make sure your not playing alot of instruments or synths in the same octave. once you've laid down your track EQ is your best friend. this is where you make room for your instruments by cutting or slightly boosting certain frequencies. reverb can also help give your sounds a sense of space and depth. This is just a couple of tips. hope this helps. and also there are tons of tutorials on youtube about all of the subject matter you mentioned. Keep Producing Homie

@B3

Thanks buddy, I am doing quite a bit of research on youtube. One question, when you say layering kicks..do you mean using the same kick sound to layer on top of the original?

Thanks