How many tracks do you average in your DAW?

storoi90

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new at producing (about 2 years), and i'm at a point where i am really starting to appreciate details in music, and discovering how i can incorporate details in my own productions.

One big thing i 've been noticing with my sessions, is the number of tracks i am using.. or rather lack of tracks.
I think this is what my productions are lacking to get a more professional sound, with more details and layering.

On average my sessions consist of roughly 20-25 tracks, and i've heard about sessions that uses up to 100 + tracks.
My sessions consist of various things like piano, strings, drums, bass, synth's, organ, guitar etc.

My question is in the title of this topic, and if you could, please tell me some of your techniques if you want to.

I am really curious of what all these tracks are made up of.. they can't just be duplicates can they?

And i am a Pro Tools 8.0.5 LE user at the moment, but i am in the process of upgrading both to an Mbox Pro and Pro Tools 10 to get better audio, more tracks and busses and so on.

are you talking about tracks with full vocal recordings? if so, then it makes sense that the number of tracks can get really high... As far as instrumentals it really depends on the type of music you're making and how you arrange it
by the way... just because a project has 100 tracks doesn't mean its better than one with 5 tracks. You can make a great instrumental in 5 tracks:
1 drums
2 synthesizer1
3 bassline
4 synthesizer2
5 automations & sound effects

I do want to point out that layering in both drums and melodies can produce some great subtle details that set a song apart from the rest

Last edited: