How important actually is learning theory?

freedoom

Ive been producing music for almost 3/4 years now, and just in the last 6 months i have started to teach myself music theory. I remember watching an interview with Deadmau5 where he said that he has absolutely no knowledge of music theory at all, and he is one of the biggest EDM artists out there. I assume there are a good amount of hip hop producers who are in the same boat...

So, really, If you have a great ear for music and what sounds good, does Theory really make that big of a difference?

EDM requires zero skill when it comes to sound and sound design. It's a case of throwing together some loops, a preset synth, penciling in an elaborate build-up and hope for the best. I don't mean to disregard the genre, but I mean come on, same 128bpm tempo, same kick pattern, same errthang...

If you want to produce music that has some realism or emotion, theory is a must. Even the very basics like common chord progressions help me enormously.

Checkout bandcoach.org and hooktheory.com

I think theory is a must for anyone who makes music. However, personally I found that getting too focused on the theory when you sit down to make a beat really kills my creativity. When I sit down now I just play a series of chords by ear and get a good groove going, and then work from there. I can't really articulate why theory is good to know very well at the moment, but it has helped me a whole lot.

If you ever jam with people it is also good because you can actually communicate your musical ideas to your jamming partners a whole lot easier.

@JC_Biffro: thanks for the shoutout