how do u create a 'whoooosh' sound????

F

flying knight

i dont use other peoples samples and want to create a 'whoosh' sound. i have absynth 2 and think its poss in this, but im not an expert with that at the mo..

any tips, pointers appericated.

cheers

fknight

Can't give you the ultimate recipe but it should work with a noise waveform and some pitch-bending and/or cutoff bending...

I don't know what exactly you mean by a "whoosh-sound" though :)

THM! Samplecarze! This is the people to be asking.

The envelope is important as well. long attack, decay, sustain, and release.

=> for the "wind" kind of swoosh sounds do this:

Use only white noise as oscillator.
If you have more oscillators, diable those (or set the volume on 0, or whatever - depending from synth to synth).

Add modulation (you'd check out several sources and destinations - decide what you like the most) - and not to forget set the modulation rate very low (slow); that will go make the sound slowly up/down.

Use some attack (to slowly come in the sound), play with D/S/R (longer D&R or S&R for longer lasting sounds).

You can also add chorus and especially phaser to make the sound go "woosh" still more...

It's all about trial and error to get the sound you want - but definitely start with noise.

=> for the "high tone to bass drops" do this:

set a higher or lower pitch envelope depth (depending if you want bass drops or upgoing sounds) and play with the pitch envelope parameters to get the sound you want

(don't shoot me if I forgot something -- I'm not in front of my synths right now so I had to describe it by heart. If I don't forget I'll try it out myself ASAP)

thanks for that. very helpful. excuse my beginner ignorance, but would i be able to create white noise through setting up a patch in absnyth? or???

what would be the source of white noise, the actual synths i use? im running logic 5.5 . can i use any of the bundled snyths. also have a ppg2.

thanks anyway.