how do i make my beats more energetic, hard hitting, tension??

RhyanCrisis

lately i've been trying to do something different to my beats.. i usually just add a lead synth onto it and tweak it.. and that gives it a pump feel to it... but i've been trying to get into other instruments like brass, paino, guitar etc.... i have basic knowledge of these... but how can i make my beats sound more hard club banger rushing sounding?... without using bass of course lol... i don't want someone to say "add lots of bass"!

Actually there are different drum presets/samples for different purposes, and sometimes fiddling around the parameters can get annoying even if you know how to handle them - you won't make anything significantly better just because you made wrong choice in the very beginning. As for my sources of pounding/crushing/apocalyptic beats, it's Native Instruments Battery, Native Instruments Maschine and Ableton Live Drum Rack mainly. You just gotta spend some time exploring libraries, and my advice is that if something doesn't sound like fun, then abandon it and try a different thing... And there are always EQ and effects for fine tuning.

thank you guys, i'll check these out asap... but i think i mean more.... like how to make my beats make people want to dance.. or nod their hands... or stand still ya kno?.. like those type of impacts... maybe its just me cause i made them lol... but i don't get like... excited hearing them.... idk... maybe there's a technique to make my drums more bouncy or something idk

As others have stated, a lot of it comes down to proper sound design / sample selection. What hasn't been mentioned yet is the mixing aspect.