house music theory

realizing this is a production based forum i'm hoping some of you guys can help me anyways - i've been spinning house for a few years and have a working knowledge of beatmatching, phrasing, and harmonic mixing; i'm wondering if a musician could listen to a house track and tell me more about it than, "it's in C minor and 126 beats per minute". And if they could tell me more information about the track, could this information be usefully applied to mixing the tracks? i realize music is an art but learning about harmony has saved me countless hours of trial and error mixing, i'm just wondering if there is any more to the "science" that i'm missing that could take me even further. i've tried asking in other forums but most dj's HATE when you bring up harmony, like it's "cheating" to understand any music theory.

its not cheating to understand music theory when djing. those dj's who think it is probably mix tracks together that are not in complimentary keys and let them play together for like 3 minutes with the different songs just clashing with each other (which seriously makes my brain want to explode, not to mention pull out a sniper rifle and end the mix right there).

Last edited by a moderator:
Nah I like when a DJ keys out records and mixes **** lovely like that. I know a few djs all they do is key out records more so then worry about beat matching and ****. Easiest way I know to find out what key a song is in is by play a instrument @ the same time a record is being played and which ever note clashes the least bang you got your key of the record. I personally dont know anyone that can listen to a song and know what key or pitch it is in . I know several top producers suchs AS LANCE JORDAN AND JOHN CREAMER and they both do what I suggested to figure out a key of a record if it was not given to them in advance. Hope this info helped you .