Composing Soul Music

Ch0p

Malcolm Smalls
Well first question.. Did many of the soul bands actually know how to read music and all that? I'm guessing a lot of them came from poverty stricken places and I was wondering if they actually wrote and read notes or did they play by ear until they found a rhythm they liked? I'm studying music theory right now and learning how to play piano by myself because I want to recreate soul music, to sample or even sing to. I'm reading a lot about soul music coming from Jazz and Blues backgrounds, So would learning about jazz and blues music theory help me or what? I want to do this all on a piano and I'm guessing if I know the theory and all I can atleast do the rhythms out and make it sound good even if i don't have professional sounds.

Just becuase a lot of the greats may have been poverty stricken as you say, it doesn't mean their understanding of theory was any less than people with higher education.

Yes I think learning some basic jazz theory would help a lot. Learn the II V I progression, then try and apply that in every key. Eventually you will build up a good bunch of chord progressions that you can apply with stuff you already know.

Ch0p said:
Well first question.. Did many of the soul bands actually know how to read music and all that? I'm guessing a lot of them came from poverty stricken places and I was wondering if they actually wrote and read notes or did they play by ear until they found a rhythm they liked? I'm studying music theory right now and learning how to play piano by myself because I want to recreate soul music, to sample or even sing to. I'm reading a lot about soul music coming from Jazz and Blues backgrounds, So would learning about jazz and blues music theory help me or what? I want to do this all on a piano and I'm guessing if I know the theory and all I can atleast do the rhythms out and make it sound good even if i don't have professional sounds.