Can people who know theory make anything that comes to mind?

hi-ku

If someone knows everything about theory or every note etc. make up something in their head and play it on an instrument like nothing. This might sound like a stupid question but i've been trying to find out. Thanks in advance!:D

I find the only limitation to doing this is my instrument knowledge

Pretty much anything I can hear in my head I can render in my daw no problem but I have been doing this for 36+ years, so it should be that way.

i.e. the more you do it the easier it becomes

Yes. No, maybe. Sort of.

Its a very philosophical question and I'm not sure if theres really an answer to it.

Like bandcoach above me said, anything he can hear in his head he can render, but what if he can only hear sounds in his head that hes heard before in his DAW. You cant really imagine a new sound inside your head without having heard it somewhere first. Its like trying to imagine a new color, you can't, your brain doesnt work like that.

So what I'm saying is, timbaland might have heard every sound out there and can imagine anything. But you haven't heard that much, so your imagination is greatly limited.

---------- Post added at 11:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:07 PM ----------

I find the only limitation to doing this is my instrument knowledge

Pretty much anything I can hear in my head I can render in my daw no problem but I have been doing this for 36+ years, so it should be that way.

i.e. the more you do it the easier it becomes
bandcoach, I don't mean this in any disrespectful way,

Do you think you could imagine in your head a note thats not a note from the 12 note scale we use?