Can learning piano make you that much greater

I know there are great producers who have no training and there are alot who do,but can it make that much of a difference in some one with potential.The reason why I'm on this topic is becausei am recording a friend who says I'm a good producer but today we were listening to other local producers and he was feeling them and that made me feel like(then why am I recording you for free).okay I'd admit iwas jealous cause they were good beats and know I'm firered up about being the best I can be and willing to go threw whatever to make me that much better.

Knowledge can only take you farther. I say take on lessons. But thats my opinion .

Music Theory WILL help you. Chords, Scales, and Progressions are kinda of like being able to refer to a whole library of different genres and sounds. West Coast music uses alot of Minor Chords and Scales as well as Blues scales. Will music theory help you play those scales and chords? Yea. Trap music uses alot of Minor Scales (Descending), will music theory help you know where this scale is? Yea. It will give you reference, dont get me wrong, ir wont help you CREATE. The way you use these scales, these chords, this knowledge is a completely different story. Its a tool, a VERY useful tool in my opinion. Music theory was the key to my success. It enables you to be able to do more things and kinda lets you out of the box, or it did for me. Learn it, when it clicks in, youl know it. It makes things alot easier. For composers and people who sample. Finding the key a certain sample or knowing what key your will quicken your pace and make things ALOT easier. I dont know how anyone could ever argue with that. Its not necessarily learning piano as much as it is learning "Music" as a whole. Music Theory.